You can no longer downgrade to launch version of iOS 14 if you’re already updated

Stop the madness
You can’t go back again.
Photo: Charlie Sorrel/Cult of Mac

If you’ve upgraded to iOS or iPadOS 14.0.1, it’s no longer possible to downgrade to the earlier, launch version of iOS 14. That’s because Apple has stopped signing the original iOS 14, thereby stopping users installing it on their devices.

Apple introduced iOS 14.0.1 last week. The first update to iOS 14, it introduced a bug fix to a problem stopping users permanently selecting a new email app or web browser.

Other updates included a fix to a fault that stopped camera previews from properly showing on iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus, an issue blocking iPhones from connecting to Wi-Fi networks, a problem with sending email using certain providers, and a glitch stopping images from appearing in the News widget.

In other words, there’s no reason you would want to go back to iOS 14’s original version if you could. And, well, now you can’t.

You can no longer downgrade your version of iOS 14

By stopping Apple users from downgrading to earlier versions, Apple can address glitches — or, worse, security bugs, in a rapid manner. This makes iOS a less fragmented, more secure and more functional operating system. According to the latest Mixpanel data, iOS 14 adoption currently stands at 34.54 percent. iOS 14 launched publicly on September 16. That represents a pretty impressive rate of adoption for users.

iOS 14 has proven extremely popular so far, particularly as it gives users the ability to more thoroughly customize their iPhone Home screens.

How are you finding iOS 14 so far? Have you ever wanted to downgrade software to an earlier version after updating it? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.