Google Workspace for Education users finally have a way to make sure that students aren’t hanging out in a Google Meet without a teacher.
Yesterday afternoon Google announced that teachers can now end Google Meet calls for all participants at once. Now when hosts leave a Google Meet call they will see an option to let others stay in the meeting or end the meeting for everyone. Students will be automatically disconnected when a teacher (host) chooses to end the meeting for everyone.
If you use meeting nicknames in conjunction with the new option to end the meeting for all participants, you can ensure that students aren’t hanging out in a Google Meet call without your supervision.
As is usual with new features in Google Workspaces, this new Google Meet option is available to some users right now and will be available to all Google Workspaces for Education users in the next couple of weeks. It’s important to note that this feature is only available to Google Workspaces for Education users and not to those using other versions of Google Workspaces (formerly known as G Suite for Education).